
Salt Lake City
Salt Lake County

Rent a motorhome, a camper van or a travel trailer from an owner here in the valley. A trailer runs about $119 a night and a big Class A about $286, with most of the fleet in between. Around two thirds of owners will bring it to an address you agree with them, so you do not have to collect it.
Moab is three and a half to four hours south, which puts Arches and Canyonlands within a day of picking up the keys. Zion is a little over four. Closer to home, Little Cottonwood is twenty minutes from Sandy and the Uintas are a weekend. Staying a month or more? Utah stops charging rental tax at thirty consecutive days.
Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.
A Class C is where most first-time renters land. It drives on an ordinary licence, tows nothing, sleeps four to six, and costs around $219 a night. A travel trailer is cheaper at about $119, but you need a vehicle to pull it and that is not in the price. A camper van is the one that still fits down a forest road and into a normal parking bay.

244 listed, median $119 a night
The cheapest class here at a $119 median and the largest, 244 of the 610 listings. The tow vehicle is not in that price and not in the listing.

12 listed, median $181 a night
The most beds and the thinnest supply: all twelve sleep six or more, at a $181 median. It hitches into the bed of a pickup you supply.

78 listed, median $186.50 a night
The cheapest way to drive rather than tow, at a $186.50 median. 38 of the 78 sleep two, so count the beds first.

151 listed, median $219 a night
The default first rental: 151 listed at a $219 median, and 119 of them sleep six or more. No special licence, and nothing to tow.

58 listed, median $249 a night
A toilet on most of them and a shower inside, for $62.50 a night more than a camper van. 18 of the 58 sleep two, so check the beds rather than the badge.

37 listed, median $286 a night
The most expensive class here at a $286 median, and the most beds per unit: 34 of the 37 sleep six or more.
Owners are spread from Ogden down to Provo and out to Tooele. Most will deliver for a fee they set themselves; otherwise you collect it where it is kept. Start from the area that suits your first day.

Salt Lake County

Salt Lake County

Salt Lake County

Weber County

Utah County

Summit County
The five national parks are why most people rent here, and all five are south. Closer in, Antelope Island is forty minutes from downtown and Bear Lake or Flaming Gorge make a weekend. Each page below has the drive, the campgrounds worth booking, the season, and the size of vehicle the park will actually let in.

300 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.
4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
270 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.
4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
236 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.
3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
237 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.
3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
Not stated by the National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and 24 ft, the median drivable in this market, sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take anything longer and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.
3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
41 miles, per Utah State Parks
What stops a vehicle here
Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.
Read the limits
Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT
What stops a vehicle here
The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.
Read the limits
205 miles, per US Forest Service
What stops a vehicle here
No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.
Read the limits
Not stated by Utah State Parks
What stops a vehicle here
Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.
Read the limits
No agency publishes a Salt Lake City to Moab mileage
What stops a vehicle here
Moab is where an Arches and Canyonlands trip actually sleeps, and the two nearest developed campgrounds publish electricity and no water at all. Dead Horse Point says the water table is too low for a well and trucks its water up daily. BLM's Horsethief, on the Island in the Sky approach, has neither hookups nor water. Fill the fresh tank in town before you drive up, because neither place can do it for you.
3.5 to 4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
120 miles, per Bureau of Land Management
What stops a vehicle here
You cannot camp on the salt. BLM tells spectators and participants alike to leave the flats to find accommodation each day, day use is free and needs no permit, and the surface closes seasonally whenever it is wet, on dates that are posted by sign rather than published in advance. The flats are a day trip, and the overnight is a separate problem solved on dispersed BLM ground or in Wendover.
Read the limits
Utah State Parks publishes no mileage from Salt Lake City
What stops a vehicle here
Jordanelle is the nearest RV camping with hookups to Park City, and it is only bookable for half the year. The reservable season runs 1 May to 31 October. From 1 November to 30 April it is walk-in, which cannot be reserved online at all, and whether the power and water are still running through that walk-in season is stated on no page the park publishes.
Read the limitsThere is no $15 fee now and no ranger escort. A vehicle that does not fit is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the rule applies to the whole highway through to the East Entrance rather than to the tunnel alone. Most of the first page of Google still describes the permit that was withdrawn.
That matters here because of what the marketplace publishes. All 610 listings measured give a length. 86 give a height and 80 give a width, and those last two are what Zion now measures, mirrors included. The number on the card is not the number that stops you, so ask the host for the other two in writing before you pay.
RV owners
385 of the 610 listings here come from an owner with a single vehicle, and 123 are dealers. See what your class earns a night before you decide whether it is worth listing.
Explore Class A, Class C motorhomes, camper vans and travel trailers on the marketplace. Start from the size limit where you are going, not from the floorplan.
Every Utah park publishes a different limit and no two agree. Check your length, height and width against the parks on your route before you pay, not after.
Booking, payment and the rules are between you and the owner on Outdoorsy. Two thirds of hosts here deliver, each setting their own fee, so agree the handover address in the same conversation.
The host walks you through the rig. Roadside assistance on an eligible Outdoorsy booking comes from Outdoorsy's protection, not from the owner and not from here.
Rates here come off the live marketplace rather than a brochure, so you can see what a class really costs before you start filtering. A trailer week and a Class A week are not the same trip or the same bill.
Zion, Bryce, Arches, Canyonlands and Capitol Reef each allow a different vehicle, and no two publish it the same way. Those rules came off the parks' own pages, so you do not book something that gets turned around at the gate.
Where a park or an owner publishes nothing, this site says so and names who to ask, rather than filling the gap with a guess. Airport parking for an RV is the clearest example: the airport gives no figure at all.
Ben Kiser has held ownership in RV rental locations across the United States and reads these pages as somebody who places units against these rules for a living.
Found a park page that now says something different? Send it and the figure gets re-checked against the source.
Ask a question