
Sundance week in Park City
Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.
Sundance moved to Boulder for 2027, so a Park City January is now a ski week. The town publishes no public overnight RV parking, and the nearest state park campground cannot be reserved in January at all.
What decides the vehicle
Sundance is no longer a Park City event. The Sundance Institute announced on 27 March 2025 that Boulder, Colorado, would become the festival's home beginning in 2027, and on 24 February 2026 it dated that first Boulder edition 21 to 31 January 2027. The 2026 festival, 22 January to 1 February in Park City and Salt Lake City, was the last one held in Utah. Any page still telling you to rent an RV for Sundance in Park City is describing a festival in another state.
Park City's own parking FAQ publishes the rule that would have governed the idea anyway, and it is one sentence long: there is no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers, and it points at private facilities instead. The town is reached from the Salt Lake valley up Parleys Canyon on I-80 and then in on SR-224, and its published answer to where a rig sleeps is that it does not have one. The codified section number is harder to pin down, because Park City's own Title 9 parking code contents link returns a 404, so the FAQ wording is what this page works from.
The nearest state park campground is Jordanelle, which publishes 103 RV campsites on partial hookups, 30 amp power and water, with no sewer at the site. Its reservation system publishes a reservable season of 1 May to 31 October and a walk-in season of 1 November to 30 April. A January site there cannot be reserved online at all. Whether the water and power are energised through that walk-in season is not stated anywhere: the hookup rows in the winter rate table are price tiers, not a service guarantee, and the park is the place to confirm it. Plan a January week around a walk-in or a private site before you commit to a rig, because the campground calendar is the part that will not move.
What an RV actually buys you here
What to settle before you leave the valley
- 1Sundance's own announcement dates the 2027 edition 21 to 31 January in Boulder, Colorado. A plan built on a Park City festival week is a plan for the wrong state.
- 2Park City's parking FAQ states there is no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers. Settle where the vehicle sleeps before you book it.
- 3Jordanelle publishes a reservable season of 1 May to 31 October and a walk-in season of 1 November to 30 April. January cannot be booked online there.
- 4Hailstone's 103 RV sites at Jordanelle are partial hookups, 30 amp power and water. No sewer at the site, so plan where you dump.
- 5SR-224 is on UDOT's seasonal closure list, and UDOT names no gate point or milepost for any road on that list. Check the status per route the week you travel rather than assuming which section closes.
Questions people ask
Is the Sundance Film Festival still in Park City?
No. The Sundance Institute announced on 27 March 2025 that Boulder, Colorado, would become the festival's home beginning in 2027, and on 24 February 2026 it dated the first Boulder edition 21 to 31 January 2027. The 2026 festival, 22 January to 1 February in Park City and Salt Lake City, was the last one held in Utah.
Can I park an RV overnight in Park City?
Park City's own parking FAQ states there is no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers, and points at private facilities instead. The codified section number is harder to cite because the town's Title 9 parking code contents link returns a 404, so the FAQ wording is what this page works from.
Where is the nearest campground, and is it open in January?
Jordanelle State Park publishes 103 RV campsites on partial hookups, 30 amp power and water, with no sewer at the site. Its reservation system publishes a reservable season of 1 May to 31 October and a walk-in season of 1 November to 30 April, so a January site cannot be booked online. Whether the water and power are energised through the walk-in season is not stated: those rows are price tiers, not a service guarantee. Confirm with the park.
Does the road into Park City close in winter?
SR-224 appears on UDOT's seasonal closure list, and UDOT publishes no fixed calendar date, no gate point and no milepost for any road on that list. Its committed wording is that it closes the listed roads through the winter, typically November through May or June, depending on the weather. Check the status per route the week you travel rather than assuming which section closes.
How far ahead should I book?
385 of the 610 listings measured on 2026-09-18 came from an owner publishing a single vehicle. One vehicle is one calendar with no substitute unit behind it, so the rig you want is either free on your dates or it is not. Campground reservations are the harder constraint: Zion's Watchman takes bookings six months out, South Campground only 14 days out, and Bryce's Sunset Campground 14 days against North Campground's six months.
Will a host deliver it?
Delivery was offered on 67.9% of listings when the market was measured, at a fee the host sets. This site arranges none of it and quotes no fee. Confirm the address takes the vehicle's length and its turning circle before accepting a drop.
What size clears the most of Utah?
Under 20 ft clears every published road limit, including Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road, which close to RVs above 20 ft and to anything towing. Under 21 ft keeps the Elephant Hill Access Road at Canyonlands. Up to 28 ft keeps both Canyonlands campgrounds. Above 35 ft 9 in the Zion highway between Canyon Junction and the East Entrance is closed to you, with no permit available since 7 June 2026.
Does this site book the RV?
No. It is a finder. Listings are published by their owners on the marketplace, the host accepts or declines the booking, and the money never passes through this site. Some links here are affiliate links that pay a commission from the marketplace rather than from your total.
Before you book
Of the 610 listings measured on 2026-09-18, all 610 published a length, 86 published a height and 80 published a width. Zion measures the last two, with mirrors counted, so those come from the host in writing.
67.9% of listings offer delivery, at the host's own fee.
No Utah national park campground has a full hookup. Bring a 30 amp adapter.
Other trips
Zion, Bryce, Arches, Canyonlands and Capitol Reef in one loop, planned around Bryce Point Road's 20 ft bar and Elephant Hill's 21 ft rather than the number of beds.
Winter RV use out of the Salt Lake valley, where the binding constraint is UDOT closing SR-150 and six other state routes on no published date, rather than anything the parks enforce.
Collecting an RV after you land at SLC International, where the airport publishes two height gates and no price for the vehicle that will not fit under them, so the handover has to be agreed off-airport before you book the flight.
Speed Week at Bonneville, where the Bureau of Land Management publishes no water and no facilities on the flats, tells spectators to leave each day, and where SCTA has not yet dated the 2027 meeting.
Zion allows six people and one RV per campsite, so a party of twenty in Utah is four reservations however many beds the rigs carry. Book the campsites before you choose the vehicles.
Utah's general rifle buck deer hunt runs 17 to 25 October 2026, nine days that do not move. The Forest Service caps a developed site at seven consecutive days on most of the Uinta-Wasatch-Cache, so the nine days only fit on dispersed ground.
Every published limit, every campground cap, and the places the sources contradict each other.
Pick for the narrowest road, not the widest bed
The length band decides which roads stay open to you for the whole trip, and it is the hardest thing to change once the booking is accepted. Everything else is negotiable.