A Class C motorhome on a two-lane Utah highway with red rock mesas ahead and the Wasatch range behind

Mirror Lake Highway RV rental from Salt Lake City

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The rule that governs this destination

The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.

Mirror Lake Highway at a glance

Read from the park’s own pages on . Limits change, so check the source before you book.

Distance from Salt Lake City
Not published

The Forest Service gives the route in segments, 30 miles of I-80 from Salt Lake City and then 32 miles of SR-150 from Kamas, and never sums them. They are not summed here either.

Drive time
Not published

No source publishes one.

Tightest published length that bars a vehicle
Not published

No road here is closed by length alone.

Listings measured near Salt Lake City
610

610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.

The hard gate

These are not advisory. A vehicle over any one of them is refused and turned around, and there is nothing to buy that changes the answer.

Maximum length
Not published
Maximum width
Not published
Maximum height
Not published
Maximum weight
80,000 lbs
Maximum combined length
Not published

Three of these five read Not published because UDOT's restriction table carries exactly one entry for SR-150 and it is a weight. Cross-referenced against the 514 usable GVWR values in the measured market: the heaviest listing near Salt Lake City is rated 51,000 lbs, so this gate stops nothing you can rent. That is the finding. The road does not decide this trip.

What is closed to you, in the park's own words

Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.

Difficult, not banned

Trial Lake Campground, how a site is measured

Max Vehicle Length includes the tow vehicle, and there is no overflow parking

Max Vehicle Length includes tow vehicle. There is no extra vehicle parking in the campground and no parking on the road is allowed
https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/231945
Prohibited

Mirror Lake Campground, where the same notice runs at Moosehorn, Washington Lake and Soapstone too

Arrive with the tank filled. Hooking up to restroom spigots or power is prohibited.

Come with your RV/trailer water tank filled. Hooking up to spigots or the power in the restrooms, even for medical devices is strictly prohibited
https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/233730

Campgrounds, and what each one will take

Where a column reads not published, no page published by the agency that runs this ground states a figure. That is the source being silent, not this page being incomplete.

Published RV limits, site counts, hookups, seasons and dump stations at every Mirror Lake Highway campground
CampgroundMax RV lengthSitesHookupsSeasonReservationsDump station
Mirror Lake Campground74 ft77None. The Forest Service calls it unpaved with no hook-ups.Forest Service season 6/22 to 9/20, which is 91 days counted inclusive.Four months ahead on recreation.gov, cut off 4 days before arrival. Seven-day stay limit.Not published
Trial Lake Campground36 ft58None. Paved loop, no hook-ups.Forest Service season 6/19 to 9/13, which is 87 days.Four months ahead, cut off 4 days before arrival. Seven-day stay limit.Not published
Washington Lake Campground105 ft44None, and no water on site either.Forest Service season 6/16 to 9/20, which is 97 days.Reservable sites need 5 days notice. First-come sites open when the snow allows and cannot be checked remotely.Not published
Moosehorn Campground35 ft32None. Pack it in, pack it out.Forest Service season 6/26 to 9/20, which is 87 days and the latest opening on the byway.Four months ahead on recreation.gov, cut off 4 days before arrival.Not published
Soapstone Campground86 ft33None, and the Forest Service page says No water available.Forest Service season 5/15 to 9/13, which is 122 days.Four months ahead on recreation.gov, cut off 4 days before arrival.Yes
  • Mirror Lake Campground. Compiled from the recreation.gov site inventory on 2026-09-19. All 77 sites publish a Max Vehicle Length, from 19 ft to 74 ft, with 13 sites at 30 ft and 12 at 40 ft. Only one site takes 74 ft, so the headline figure describes a single pad. Recreation.gov puts the campground at 10,400 feet, the highest elevation either agency states for anything on the byway. Sites 65 to 79 are equipped for equestrian use with hitching rails and feeding boxes. The Forest Service page states no total.
  • Trial Lake Campground. 58 sites, every one carrying a length, from 15 ft to 36 ft, and 28 of them at exactly 30 ft. That 30 ft cluster is not a coincidence: the campground's own booking notice warns that RVs longer than 30 ft may drag on the spillway. The same booking system still sells a 32 ft site and a 36 ft site.
  • Washington Lake Campground. 44 sites, all publishing a length, from 20 ft to 105 ft. The longest pads on the byway by a wide margin and the only place up here that will take a 40 ft fifth wheel with room behind it. The Forest Service page for it says four words that matter more than any of that: No water available.
  • Moosehorn Campground. 32 sites, all with a length, and the tightest set on the byway taken as a whole: 7 at 20 ft, 11 at 25 ft, 13 at 30 ft and a single site at 35 ft. Nothing here is water or trash serviced, and the Forest Service notes the nearest phone is 17 miles away.
  • Soapstone Campground. 33 sites, of which 27 carry a length, from 13 ft to 86 ft. Six publish nothing, so for those the booking page is the only answer. Lower on the highway than the rest, which is why its season runs 5/15 to 9/13, 122 days, the longest on the byway. The Forest Service fee schedule lists a Soapstone RV Comfort Station as a dump station, the only one named on SR-150.

Numbers that do not agree, and who to ask

Both positions are printed. Neither is averaged into a figure no source supports, and neither is quietly dropped.

Whether Mirror Lake Campground has drinking water

  1. "This campground typically has water available" and "Potable water is available at this site."

    US Forest Service, Mirror Lake Campground page, last updated 8 September 2026

    https://www.fs.usda.gov/r04/uinta-wasatch-cache/recreation/mirror-lake-campground
  2. "There is no water available on site; bring all water needed for your stay including drinking water. This is a 'pack it in, pack it out' facility."

    Recreation.gov, active warning notice on the Mirror Lake Campground record

    https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/233730

At 10,400 feet with no hookups and no dump station named, whether the tap runs decides how many nights your tank supports. The same booking page that says there is no water also forbids filling from the restroom spigots. Arrive believing the Forest Service page and a four-night booking becomes a two-night one.

Confirm at: Heber-Kamas Ranger District, Kamas office, 435-783-4338

Whether Trial Lake takes a rig over 30 ft

  1. "Campground roads are narrow and lined with trees. RVs longer than 30ft may drag on the spillway"

    Recreation.gov, active warning notice on the Trial Lake record

    https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/231945
  2. Two sites in the same campground carry a Max Vehicle Length above that warning, one at 32 ft and one at 36 ft. Read from the site inventory on 2026-09-19.

    Recreation.gov, Trial Lake site inventory

    https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/231945

The booking system will sell you a pad the campground's own warning says you may not reach intact. Twenty-eight of the 58 sites are rated at exactly 30 ft, which is the warning written into the inventory, and then two sites are not. Call before you book either of the two.

Confirm at: Heber-Kamas Ranger District, Kamas office, 435-783-4338

Questions no official page answers

These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.

  • Any length, width or height limit on SR-150. UDOT's secondary-highway restriction table carries one entry for the road and it is a weight, 80,000 lbs GVW. Neither UDOT nor the Forest Service publishes a grade percentage, a switchback warning, a hairpin radius or any RV advisory for the climb over Bald Mountain Pass. Checked on 2026-09-19 against the restriction table, the byway recreation page and the Heber-Kamas district page.
  • The date the road shuts. UDOT publishes no fixed calendar date for any seasonal road and commits only to "typically November through May or June, depending on the weather". The Soapstone gate and the mileposts repeated on every other page about this highway are not UDOT's words and should not be attributed to it. Watch udottraffic.utah.gov/seasonalroads, which is the page UDOT actually maintains.
  • A summit elevation for the highway. The Forest Service's own Bald Mountain Pass Trailhead and Picnic Site page publishes a latitude, a longitude, a fee and no elevation. Recreation.gov puts Mirror Lake Campground at 10,400 feet and Washington Lake Campground at 10,000, and those are the highest figures any agency states for anything on the byway. No agency page read gives a number for the pass itself.
  • Whether anything other than Soapstone has a dump station. Soapstone RV Comfort Station appears in the forest's own fee-change table with the site type Dump Station. No Forest Service or recreation.gov page states one at Mirror Lake, Trial Lake, Washington Lake or Moosehorn, and none states that there is not one. With no hookups anywhere on the byway that is the question a week-long booking turns on.
  • What length six of the 33 Soapstone sites will take. They publish no Max Vehicle Length at all, so the only way to find out is the booking page or the Kamas office on 435-783-4338. Yellow Pine, Cobblerest and Butterfly publish no length on any site, which is 70 sites on this highway with no figure of any kind.

Sources

Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

Everywhere else this market drives to

A motorhome on a narrow canyon road below sheer sandstone walls, showing how little clearance the route allows

Zion National Park

300 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.

4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A travel trailer parked in a pine-shaded campground loop on the rim above Bryce hoodoos

Bryce Canyon National Park

270 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.

4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A camper van in a slickrock parking area with sandstone fins rising behind it

Arches National Park

236 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A short camper van at the start of an unpaved gravel road running out across a mesa top

Canyonlands National Park

237 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A motorhome on a paved scenic drive beside historic orchards below striped cliffs

Capitol Reef National Park

Not stated by the National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.

3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Antelope Island State Park

41 miles, per Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

205 miles, per US Forest Service

What stops a vehicle here

No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Bear Lake State Park

Not stated by Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.

Read the limits