A Class C motorhome on a two-lane Utah highway with red rock mesas ahead and the Wasatch range behind

Bonneville Salt Flats RV rental from Salt Lake City

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The rule that governs this destination

You cannot camp on the salt. BLM tells spectators and participants alike to leave the flats to find accommodation each day, day use is free and needs no permit, and the surface closes seasonally whenever it is wet, on dates that are posted by sign rather than published in advance. The flats are a day trip, and the overnight is a separate problem solved on dispersed BLM ground or in Wendover.

Bonneville at a glance

Read from the park’s own pages. Limits change, so check the source before you book.

Distance from Salt Lake City
120 miles

The Utah Office of Tourism puts it at 110 miles. Both are official and they disagree, so this page publishes BLM's figure and names the other.

Drive time
Not published

No source publishes one.

Tightest published length that bars a vehicle
Not published

No road here is closed by length alone.

Listings measured near Salt Lake City
610

610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.

What is closed to you, in the park's own words

Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.

Prohibited

The salt surface, spring and whenever it is wet

Closed to motor vehicles, on dates posted by sign rather than published ahead

Motor vehicle use is limited by seasonal closure during the spring when the salt is moist or has standing water on the surface. Closure dates may vary and will be posted by sign.
https://www.blm.gov/visit/bonneville-salt-flats
Difficult, not banned

Dispersed camping on BLM land off the flats

Free, no permit, 14 days on any one site, except where posted

There is a 14-day camping limit while occupying any campsite on BLM-managed lands.
https://www.blm.gov/visit/bonneville-salt-flats

Numbers that do not agree, and who to ask

Both positions are printed. Neither is averaged into a figure no source supports, and neither is quietly dropped.

How far the salt flats are from Salt Lake City

  1. Located 120 miles west of Salt Lake City in Tooele County, Utah

    Bureau of Land Management

    https://www.blm.gov/press-release/blm-welcomes-speed-week-utahs-bonneville-salt-flats
  2. 110 miles

    Utah Office of Tourism

    https://www.visitutah.com/articles/bonneville-salt-flats-planning-guide

Ten miles is twenty minutes of a return trip you are making inside one day, because nobody sleeps on the salt. On a day trip that ends in the dark the difference decides whether you leave before or after the light goes.

Confirm at: BLM Salt Lake Field Office, 801-977-4300

Questions no official page answers

These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.

  • No agency publishes the seasonal closure dates in advance. BLM commits only to posting them by sign at the flats, so there is no date to plan a trip around and no page that will tell you before you drive out.
  • No campground exists on or immediately beside the flats, and BLM names none. The overnight is dispersed ground or a town, and which dispersed ground is not stated anywhere either.
  • Whether anything is posted specifically on the BLM land west of the salt, which is where most people actually sleep, can only be answered by the sign at the site or by the field office.

Sources

Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

Everywhere else this market drives to

A motorhome on a narrow canyon road below sheer sandstone walls, showing how little clearance the route allows

Zion National Park

300 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.

4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A travel trailer parked in a pine-shaded campground loop on the rim above Bryce hoodoos

Bryce Canyon National Park

270 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.

4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A camper van in a slickrock parking area with sandstone fins rising behind it

Arches National Park

236 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A short camper van at the start of an unpaved gravel road running out across a mesa top

Canyonlands National Park

237 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A motorhome on a paved scenic drive beside historic orchards below striped cliffs

Capitol Reef National Park

Not stated by the National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.

3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Antelope Island State Park

41 miles, per Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Mirror Lake Highway

Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT

What stops a vehicle here

The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

205 miles, per US Forest Service

What stops a vehicle here

No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Bear Lake State Park

Not stated by Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Moab

No agency publishes a Salt Lake City to Moab mileage

What stops a vehicle here

Moab is where an Arches and Canyonlands trip actually sleeps, and the two nearest developed campgrounds publish electricity and no water at all. Dead Horse Point says the water table is too low for a well and trucks its water up daily. BLM's Horsethief, on the Island in the Sky approach, has neither hookups nor water. Fill the fresh tank in town before you drive up, because neither place can do it for you.

3.5 to 4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Jordanelle State Park

Utah State Parks publishes no mileage from Salt Lake City

What stops a vehicle here

Jordanelle is the nearest RV camping with hookups to Park City, and it is only bookable for half the year. The reservable season runs 1 May to 31 October. From 1 November to 30 April it is walk-in, which cannot be reserved online at all, and whether the power and water are still running through that walk-in season is stated on no page the park publishes.

Read the limits