A short camper van at the start of an unpaved gravel road running out across a mesa top

Canyonlands National Park RV rental from Salt Lake City

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The rule that governs this destination

The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.

Canyonlands at a glance

Read from the park’s own pages on . Limits change, so check the source before you book.

Distance from Salt Lake City
237 miles

This is to Moab, not to either district entrance. The Utah Office of Tourism gives 279 to the Needles.

Drive time
3.5 to 4 hours to Moab

Utah Office of Tourism

Tightest published length that bars a vehicle
21 ft

Read from the structured limits on this page, never from prose.

Listings measured near Salt Lake City
610

610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.

What is closed to you, in the park's own words

Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.

ProhibitedOver 21 ft

Elephant Hill Access Road and the Elephant Hill road system, the Needles

21 ft total length, including trailers

Vehicles (or a combination of vehicles and trailers) that exceed 21 feet in overall length are prohibited from traveling on Elephant Hill Access Road and the Elephant Hill road system at The Needles.
https://www.nps.gov/cany/planyourvisit/needlesroads.htm
Difficult, not banned

Cave Spring Access Road

Over 21 ft will struggle to turn around

Vehicles that exceed a total length of 21 ft (7 m) may experience difficulty on this road due to a limited turnaround.
https://www.nps.gov/cany/planyourvisit/driving.htm
Difficult, not banned

Getting to the park at all

Over 25 ft may struggle

Private vehicles that exceed 25 feet in total length may experience difficulties navigating to the park and have limited access to recreational areas once inside.
https://www.nps.gov/cany/planyourvisit/directions.htm

Campgrounds, and what each one will take

Where a column reads not published, no page published by the agency that runs this ground states a figure. That is the source being silent, not this page being incomplete.

Published RV limits, site counts, hookups, seasons and dump stations at every Canyonlands campground
CampgroundMax RV lengthSitesHookupsSeasonReservationsDump station
Willow Flat, Island in the Sky28 ft12None. No water at the campground.Open year-roundFirst-come only, no reservations. Fills most days spring through fall.No
The Needles Campground28 ft26None. No electricity, showers or dump station.Loop A year-round. Loop B closed in winter, reservable 15 March to 15 November.Loop B up to six months ahead. Loop A first-come only.No
  • Willow Flat, Island in the Sky. "RVs and trailers are permitted, but campsite length is limited to 28 feet in most sites."
  • The Needles Campground. "Maximum combined vehicle and trailer length is 28 feet." The FAQ claims a few sites take longer vehicles but names none, and every site in the booking feed carrying a length shows exactly 28 ft. 14 first-come, 11 reservable, 5 tent-only. Formerly called Squaw Flat; NPS no longer uses that name for the campground.

Numbers that do not agree, and who to ask

No contradiction was found between the official pages read for Canyonlands on 2026-09-18. That is the finding, not an empty section. Most destinations on this site contradict themselves somewhere, and this one did not.

Questions no official page answers

These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.

  • Which Needles sites take an RV over 28 ft. The park FAQ says a few do. No NPS page names them, and the recreation.gov inventory contradicts the claim, showing 28 ft on every Loop A site that carries a value and no value at all on Loop B. Call the Needles Visitor Center on 435-259-4711 before booking a longer rig on the strength of that sentence.
  • Any length limit on the Shafer Trail or the White Rim Road. Both are restricted by vehicle capability and permit, not by size, and no size figure is published for either.
  • A district-by-district dump station statement. The goods and services page has no dump station section at all, unlike the Arches equivalent.

Sources

Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

Everywhere else this market drives to

A motorhome on a narrow canyon road below sheer sandstone walls, showing how little clearance the route allows

Zion National Park

300 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.

4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A travel trailer parked in a pine-shaded campground loop on the rim above Bryce hoodoos

Bryce Canyon National Park

270 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.

4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A camper van in a slickrock parking area with sandstone fins rising behind it

Arches National Park

236 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A motorhome on a paved scenic drive beside historic orchards below striped cliffs

Capitol Reef National Park

Not stated by the National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.

3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Antelope Island State Park

41 miles, per Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Mirror Lake Highway

Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT

What stops a vehicle here

The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

205 miles, per US Forest Service

What stops a vehicle here

No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Bear Lake State Park

Not stated by Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.

Read the limits