A motorhome on a narrow canyon road below sheer sandstone walls, showing how little clearance the route allows

Zion National Park RV rental from Salt Lake City

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The rule that governs this destination

Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.

Zion at a glance

Read from the park’s own pages on . Limits change, so check the source before you book.

Distance from Salt Lake City
300 miles

NPS gives 300 miles to the airport. The Utah Office of Tourism gives 309. The two disagree and neither is averaged here.

Drive time
4 hours 15 minutes

Utah Office of Tourism, prefaced "Typical averages barring inclement weather or other traffic events"

Tightest published length that bars a vehicle
35 ft 9 in

Read from the structured limits on this page, never from prose.

Listings measured near Salt Lake City
610

610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.

The hard gate

These are not advisory. A vehicle over any one of them is refused and turned around, and there is nothing to buy that changes the answer.

Maximum length
35 ft 9 in
Maximum width
7 ft 10 in
Maximum height
11 ft 4 in
Maximum weight
50,000 lbs
Maximum combined length
50 ft

Applies to the whole highway between Canyon Junction and the East Entrance, rather than to the tunnel alone. Combined vehicles also cannot exceed 26 ft from hitch to rear axle.

What is closed to you, in the park's own words

Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.

ProhibitedOver 35 ft 9 in

Zion-Mt. Carmel Highway, Canyon Junction to East Entrance

35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide, 11 ft 4 in high, 50,000 lbs

Vehicles that exceed any of the size or weight limits outlined below will not be permitted to drive between Canyon Junction and the East Entrance.
https://www.nps.gov/zion/planyourvisit/large-vehicles.htm

Campgrounds, and what each one will take

Where a column reads not published, no page published by the agency that runs this ground states a figure. That is the source being silent, not this page being incomplete.

Published RV limits, site counts, hookups, seasons and dump stations at every Zion campground
CampgroundMax RV lengthSitesHookupsSeasonReservationsDump station
Watchman CampgroundNot published184Electric in Loops A and B only, almost all 30 amp with a handful of 50 amp. No full hookups anywhere.Open year-roundUp to six months in advance, all sites reservableYes
South CampgroundNot published124NoneReopened 29 May 2026 after rehabilitation. Closes seasonally in winter.Up to 14 days before arrival onlyYes
Lava Point Campground19 ft6None. No potable water, pit toilets.Typically May to September, weather allowingUp to 14 days in advanceNo
  • Watchman Campground. No single park-wide cap. Loops C, D and F do not permit vehicles 19 ft and over, including combined length. Loops A and B hold the longer driveways. Counted from the recreation.gov site inventory on 2026-09-18, matching that feed's own campsites_count.
  • South Campground. No published figure. Per-site driveway lengths in the booking feed run 15 to 60 ft, with 19 ft the most common single value. Counted from the recreation.gov site inventory on 2026-09-18.
  • Lava Point Campground. All six sites carry a 19 ft cap in the booking feed, though no NPS or recreation.gov sentence states it in prose.

Numbers that do not agree, and who to ask

Both positions are printed. Neither is averaged into a figure no source supports, and neither is quietly dropped.

Whether South Campground is open

  1. Open. Reopened 29 May 2026 with reservations required.

    NPS news release, 27 May 2026

    https://www.nps.gov/zion/learn/news/zion-national-park-to-reopen-south-campground-on-may-29.htm
  2. "Camping in Watchman Campground or South Campground (once open)"

    NPS large vehicles page, last updated 2 September 2026

    https://www.nps.gov/zion/planyourvisit/large-vehicles.htm

The page an oversize RV driver is sent to still implies South is shut, three months after it reopened. A renter planning around Watchman alone competes for 184 sites instead of 308.

Confirm at: zion_park_information@nps.gov or 435-772-3256

Questions no official page answers

These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.

  • Propane. There is no NPS or UDOT instruction that an RV's propane must be shut off for the tunnel. Checked the large-vehicles page, the old tunnel page, the fees page, the conditions page, UDOT's restrictions page, and the Superintendent's Compendium, which contains the word zero times across 107,807 characters. The only adjacent rule closes the tunnel to placarded hazardous materials, and a domestic RV tank carries no USDOT placard. The sources are silent. This site does not fill that silence.
  • Whether any tunnel fee survives in any form. The fees page does not contain the word tunnel. That is strong evidence the $15 charge is gone, but silence is not a statement.
  • Whether private vehicles may drive Zion Canyon Scenic Drive in the 29 November to 25 December shuttle gap. NPS says the closure applies during the shuttle season and publishes the season's bands, but never states that the gaps are open. That window is derived here, not quoted.

Sources

Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

Everywhere else this market drives to

A travel trailer parked in a pine-shaded campground loop on the rim above Bryce hoodoos

Bryce Canyon National Park

270 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.

4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A camper van in a slickrock parking area with sandstone fins rising behind it

Arches National Park

236 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A short camper van at the start of an unpaved gravel road running out across a mesa top

Canyonlands National Park

237 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A motorhome on a paved scenic drive beside historic orchards below striped cliffs

Capitol Reef National Park

Not stated by the National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.

3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Antelope Island State Park

41 miles, per Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Mirror Lake Highway

Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT

What stops a vehicle here

The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

205 miles, per US Forest Service

What stops a vehicle here

No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Bear Lake State Park

Not stated by Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.

Read the limits