A travel trailer parked in a pine-shaded campground loop on the rim above Bryce hoodoos

Bryce Canyon National Park RV rental from Salt Lake City

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The rule that governs this destination

Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.

Bryce Canyon at a glance

Read from the park’s own pages on . Limits change, so check the source before you book.

Distance from Salt Lake City
270 miles

NPS bundles this with Las Vegas and says approximately. The Utah Office of Tourism gives 273.

Drive time
4 hours

Utah Office of Tourism

Tightest published length that bars a vehicle
20 ft

Read from the structured limits on this page, never from prose.

Listings measured near Salt Lake City
610

610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.

What is closed to you, in the park's own words

Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.

ProhibitedOver 20 ft

Bryce Point Road east of the Inspiration Point intersection, including Paria View Road

Closed to RVs over 20 ft and to any vehicle towing a trailer

The Bryce Point Road east of the Inspiration Point Intersection, including the Paria View Road, is closed to recreational vehicles (RVs) over 20 feet in length and vehicles towing trailers.
https://www.nps.gov/brca/learn/management/superintendents-compendium.htm
Parking restriction

Visitor Center, Sunrise Point, Bryce Lodge, Sunset Point, Inspiration Point, Bryce Point, Paria View

No parking for vehicles 23 ft and longer during shuttle season, roughly mid-April to mid-October, 8am to 8pm

vehicles 23 feet (7 meters) and longer are restricted from parking in the following areas during park Shuttle Season (typically mid-April to mid-October).
https://www.nps.gov/brca/planyourvisit/oversized-vehicle-restrictions.htm
Difficult, not banned

Southern Scenic Drive, Swamp Canyon to Rainbow Point

No restriction. Explicitly open to oversize vehicles.

All vehicles, including oversized vehicles over 23 feet (7 meters), are permitted to drive this road and park at all viewpoints.
https://www.nps.gov/brca/planyourvisit/faqs.htm

Campgrounds, and what each one will take

Where a column reads not published, no page published by the agency that runs this ground states a figure. That is the source being silent, not this page being incomplete.

Published RV limits, site counts, hookups, seasons and dump stations at every Bryce Canyon campground
CampgroundMax RV lengthSitesHookupsSeasonReservationsDump station
North CampgroundNot publishedNot publishedNone. No electric, water or sewer at any site.Open year-round, Loop B from 25 March 2026Up to six months in advance. No first-come sites anywhere at Bryce.Yes
Sunset CampgroundNot publishedNot publishedNoneClosed in winter. Loop A opened 25 March 2026.Up to 14 days in advance only, unlike North's six monthsNo
  • North Campground. RVs in Loops A and B only. No vehicle over 20 ft in Loops C and D. No NPS or recreation.gov page states a total. The booking inventory returned 98 site records on 2026-09-18.
  • Sunset Campground. RVs in Loop A only. Loops B and C are tent and small camper van only, enforced, and a trailer arriving there may be cancelled or charged for another site. No page states a total. The booking inventory returned 101 records on 2026-09-18.

Numbers that do not agree, and who to ask

Both positions are printed. Neither is averaged into a figure no source supports, and neither is quietly dropped.

The season of the park's only dump station

  1. "open spring - fall, closing for the season when overnight temperatures fall below freezing"

    NPS place page, updated 15 August 2026

    https://www.nps.gov/places/000/rv-dump-station.htm
  2. "Typically Open May to September"

    NPS Bryce Canyon hours page, updated 14 August 2026

    https://www.nps.gov/brca/planyourvisit/hours.htm
  3. "mid-May through mid-October (weather depending)"

    Recreation.gov, North and Sunset campgrounds

    https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/234058

Three official answers, all updated within a month of each other, for the only dump station in the park. A renter arriving in late October on the strength of the widest of them has to drive to the Sinclair station or Ruby's Inn in Bryce Canyon City, roughly two miles north.

Confirm at: Bryce Canyon visitor information, 435-834-5322

Questions no official page answers

These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.

  • Where to leave a trailer. The word trailer does not appear on the oversized vehicle page, the parking page, the FAQ page or the campgrounds page. Only recreation.gov names a location, the overflow lot at the entrance to North Campground, and it does so on the Sunset Campground listing rather than anywhere a trailer driver would look.
  • Site counts. Neither NPS nor recreation.gov publishes a total for North or Sunset. The figures quoted across the web are not sourced to either.

Sources

Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

Everywhere else this market drives to

A motorhome on a narrow canyon road below sheer sandstone walls, showing how little clearance the route allows

Zion National Park

300 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.

4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A camper van in a slickrock parking area with sandstone fins rising behind it

Arches National Park

236 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A short camper van at the start of an unpaved gravel road running out across a mesa top

Canyonlands National Park

237 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A motorhome on a paved scenic drive beside historic orchards below striped cliffs

Capitol Reef National Park

Not stated by the National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.

3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Antelope Island State Park

41 miles, per Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Mirror Lake Highway

Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT

What stops a vehicle here

The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

205 miles, per US Forest Service

What stops a vehicle here

No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Bear Lake State Park

Not stated by Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.

Read the limits