A Class C motorhome on a two-lane Utah highway with red rock mesas ahead and the Wasatch range behind

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area RV rental from Salt Lake City

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The rule that governs this destination

No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.

Flaming Gorge at a glance

Read from the park’s own pages on . Limits change, so check the source before you book.

Distance from Salt Lake City
205 miles

The Greens Lake Campground page on the same forest repeats the figure. No agency publishes a drive time, and 205 miles is further from Salt Lake City than any of the five national parks except Zion.

Drive time
Not published

No source publishes one.

Tightest published length that bars a vehicle
Not published

No road here is closed by length alone.

Listings measured near Salt Lake City
610

610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.

What is closed to you, in the park's own words

Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.

Difficult, not banned

Antelope Flat Campground, drinking water

Only from mid to late May through mid September, and no hookups

Drinking water is only available mid-late May through mid-September. No hookups available.
https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/231897
Difficult, not banned

The recreation area pass

$5 a day, $15 a week, $35 a year, and no online sale

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area Passes are available to purchase at any of our offices or any of the vendors listed below. They are not available for purchase online
https://www.fs.usda.gov/r04/ashley/passes

Campgrounds, and what each one will take

Where a column reads not published, no page published by the agency that runs this ground states a figure. That is the source being silent, not this page being incomplete.

Published RV limits, site counts, hookups, seasons and dump stations at every Flaming Gorge campground
CampgroundMax RV lengthSitesHookupsSeasonReservationsDump station
Mustang Ridge Campground80 ft69NoneDrinking water from mid to late May through mid to late September, per recreation.gov.Recreation.gov, cut off 4 days before arrival. 16 day stay limit.No
Lucerne Campground60 ft126None. Flush restrooms with showers.Drinking water available from April 1 through November 1 only, per recreation.gov.Recreation.gov, cut off 4 days before arrival. Entry booth open 9am to 7pm.Yes
Firefighters Memorial Campground60 ft60None. Dump station on site, $10.Drinking water mid-late May through mid-September, per recreation.gov.Recreation.gov, cut off 4 days before arrival. 16 day stay limit.Yes
Antelope Flat Campground40 ft50None. Flush toilets and drinking water in season.Drinking water mid-late May through mid-September, per recreation.gov.Recreation.gov, cut off 4 days before arrival. 16 day stay limit.Yes
Red Canyon Campground40 ft8NoneThe two official sources disagree on whether there is drinking water here at all.Recreation.gov, cut off 4 days before arrival. 16 day stay limit.No
  • Mustang Ridge Campground. 69 sites and every one of them publishes a Max Vehicle Length, from 25 ft to 80 ft. That is the longest published site anywhere in this data set and the most completely documented campground at Flaming Gorge. Showers on site, and the Forest Service points campers to Antelope Flat, Deer Run, Firefighters or Lodgepole to dump.
  • Lucerne Campground. The biggest campground at Flaming Gorge and the least completely described. 126 sites, of which 96 publish a length and 30 publish nothing at all. Of the 96 that do, 67 are rated 60 ft and 27 at 35 ft, so two thirds of the measurable sites take a 60 ft rig. It also has the longest water season in the recreation area.
  • Firefighters Memorial Campground. 60 sites, all publishing a length, from 25 ft to 60 ft, with 26 of them at 45 ft. That 45 ft band is the single largest cluster at Flaming Gorge and it is comfortably longer than anything in this rental market. Three miles from the reservoir rather than on it, which is why it fills last.
  • Antelope Flat Campground. 50 sites, all publishing a length, none above 40 ft and 16 of them at exactly 25 ft. On the shore at 6,000 feet, reached by a gravel road, with a fee dump station and a boat ramp. The Forest Service warns that the area is known for high winds and sudden thunderstorms.
  • Red Canyon Campground. The tightest set in the recreation area and the one to check before you drive 205 miles. Eight sites, four of them capped at 18 ft, one at 20, two at 22 and a single site at 40 ft. A 25 ft Class C, the most common drivable rental size in this market, is excluded from seven of the eight.

Numbers that do not agree, and who to ask

Both positions are printed. Neither is averaged into a figure no source supports, and neither is quietly dropped.

Whether Red Canyon Campground has drinking water

  1. "Potable water is not available at this site."

    US Forest Service, Ashley National Forest, Red Canyon Campground page

    https://www.fs.usda.gov/r04/ashley/recreation/red-canyon-campground
  2. "Drinking water is only available mid-late May through mid-September."

    Recreation.gov, active notice on the Red Canyon Campground record

    https://www.recreation.gov/camping/campgrounds/233824

Eight sites, no hookups, no dump station and a 205 mile drive to get there. Whether a tap exists in August is the difference between a week and two nights, and the agency that runs the campground and the system that books it give opposite answers.

Confirm at: Flaming Gorge Ranger District, Manila, 435-784-3445

Questions no official page answers

These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.

  • Any RV length limit on any road in the recreation area. UDOT's only entries for the two state routes in are an escort ladder that begins at 95 ft of length and 14 ft of width, and an axle-weight ban on the dam itself. No Ashley National Forest page publishes a length, width or height limit for a road here. The limit at Flaming Gorge is the pad you book, not the road you take, which is the reverse of every Utah national park on this site.
  • Hookups. Read on 2026-09-19, the recreation.gov records for Red Canyon, Antelope Flat and Firefighters Memorial each carry a no-hookup line, and the Forest Service page for every campground in the recreation area lists none either. No agency page says anywhere at Flaming Gorge has power, water or sewer at a site, and none says outright that nowhere does. Treat the whole recreation area as dry and confirm the one campground you book on 435-784-3445.
  • The reservation window. The recreation.gov records for these campgrounds publish a four-day cut-off and a 16-day stay limit and no reservation window at all, where the Mirror Lake Highway campgrounds in the same booking system publish four months. Read the opening date off the booking page rather than assuming six months, because nothing official states one.
  • Whether the recreation area pass is charged on top of a campsite fee. The Ashley National Forest passes page prices the pass at $5 a day, $15 a week and $35 a year and does not say what a paid campsite includes. The same page says the pass is not available for purchase online, so the answer matters on a Friday evening when the nearest vendors are a hardware store in Green River and two resorts at Dutch John.
  • A drive time from Salt Lake City. The Forest Service states 205 miles on two campground pages and no time on either, and states no distance at all on the recreation area's own page. At 205 miles this is a longer drive than four of the five Utah national parks and no agency says how long.
  • What 30 of Lucerne's 126 sites will take, and 9 of Canyon Rim's 17. They publish no Max Vehicle Length. Canyon Rim is the worse case, because the eight sites that do publish one run from 26 ft to 65 ft, so the missing nine could be anything. Flaming Gorge Ranger District, 435-784-3445.

Sources

Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

Everywhere else this market drives to

A motorhome on a narrow canyon road below sheer sandstone walls, showing how little clearance the route allows

Zion National Park

300 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.

4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A travel trailer parked in a pine-shaded campground loop on the rim above Bryce hoodoos

Bryce Canyon National Park

270 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.

4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A camper van in a slickrock parking area with sandstone fins rising behind it

Arches National Park

236 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A short camper van at the start of an unpaved gravel road running out across a mesa top

Canyonlands National Park

237 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A motorhome on a paved scenic drive beside historic orchards below striped cliffs

Capitol Reef National Park

Not stated by the National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.

3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Antelope Island State Park

41 miles, per Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Mirror Lake Highway

Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT

What stops a vehicle here

The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Bear Lake State Park

Not stated by Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.

Read the limits