Dead Horse Point State Park, Wingate Campground
Sites accommodate vehicles up to 56 ft
RV sites will accommodate vehicles up to 56′https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/dead-horse/wingate-campground/

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.
The rule that governs this destination
Moab is where an Arches and Canyonlands trip actually sleeps, and the two nearest developed campgrounds publish electricity and no water at all. Dead Horse Point says the water table is too low for a well and trucks its water up daily. BLM's Horsethief, on the Island in the Sky approach, has neither hookups nor water. Fill the fresh tank in town before you drive up, because neither place can do it for you.
Read from the park’s own pages. Limits change, so check the source before you book.
The National Park Service publishes mileages to the parks rather than to the town, and its Arches page gives two different figures in the same document. The Utah Office of Tourism publishes a drive time instead.
Utah Office of Tourism, prefaced "Typical averages barring inclement weather or other traffic events"
Read from the structured limits on this page, never from prose.
610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.
Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.
Sites accommodate vehicles up to 56 ft
RV sites will accommodate vehicles up to 56′https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/dead-horse/wingate-campground/
No water for RV fill-ups anywhere in the park
Water is not available to fill up RVs. The water table is too low for a well so the park must truck it up every day.https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/dead-horse/the-kayenta-campground/
No hookups and no water. 14 nights in any 30 day period
Individual Sites: 83 (limited to 10 people & two vehicles per site)https://www.blm.gov/visit/horsethief-campground
Where a column reads not published, no page published by the agency that runs this ground states a figure. That is the source being silent, not this page being incomplete.
| Campground | Max RV length | Sites | Hookups | Season | Reservations | Dump station |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dead Horse Point State Park, Wingate | 56 ft | 31 | Electric at 20 sites. No water and no sewer at any site. | Not stated on the campground page | Reservable through Utah State Parks | Yes |
| Dead Horse Point State Park, Kayenta | Not published | 21 | "All sites are also equipped with RV electrical hookups (20/30/50 AMP)." No water. | Not stated on the campground page | Reservable through Utah State Parks | Not published |
| Horsethief Campground, BLM | Not published | 83 | None. "Hook-ups: No" and "Water: No". Toilets are provided. | Not stated | First come, first served for individual sites. Group sites through Recreation.gov. $20 a night, exact cash or cheque only. | Not published |
Both positions are printed. Neither is averaged into a figure no source supports, and neither is quietly dropped.
236 miles southeast of Salt Lake City, and 230 miles from the airport, both on the same page
National Park Service, Arches
https://www.nps.gov/arch/planyourvisit/directions.htm229 miles, and a drive time of 3.5 to 4 hours
Utah Office of Tourism
https://www.visitutah.com/plan-your-trip/getting-to-utah/cities-distancesBoth figures are to Arches rather than to Moab, and the federal source disagrees with itself by six miles within one document. Any Salt Lake City to Moab mileage you see quoted elsewhere is somebody having picked one of these and subtracted, which is why this page publishes a drive time and no mileage.
Confirm at: Arches National Park, 435 719-2299
These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.
Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

244 listed, median $119 a night
The cheapest class here at a $119 median and the largest, 244 of the 610 listings. The tow vehicle is not in that price and not in the listing.

12 listed, median $181 a night
The most beds and the thinnest supply: all twelve sleep six or more, at a $181 median. It hitches into the bed of a pickup you supply.

78 listed, median $186.50 a night
The cheapest way to drive rather than tow, at a $186.50 median. 38 of the 78 sleep two, so count the beds first.

151 listed, median $219 a night
The default first rental: 151 listed at a $219 median, and 119 of them sleep six or more. No special licence, and nothing to tow.

58 listed, median $249 a night
A toilet on most of them and a shower inside, for $62.50 a night more than a camper van. 18 of the 58 sleep two, so check the beds rather than the badge.

37 listed, median $286 a night
The most expensive class here at a $286 median, and the most beds per unit: 34 of the 37 sleep six or more.

300 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.
4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
270 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.
4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
236 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.
3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
237 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.
3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
Not stated by the National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.
3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
41 miles, per Utah State Parks
What stops a vehicle here
Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.
Read the limits
Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT
What stops a vehicle here
The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.
Read the limits
205 miles, per US Forest Service
What stops a vehicle here
No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.
Read the limits
Not stated by Utah State Parks
What stops a vehicle here
Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.
Read the limits
120 miles, per Bureau of Land Management
What stops a vehicle here
You cannot camp on the salt. BLM tells spectators and participants alike to leave the flats to find accommodation each day, day use is free and needs no permit, and the surface closes seasonally whenever it is wet, on dates that are posted by sign rather than published in advance. The flats are a day trip, and the overnight is a separate problem solved on dispersed BLM ground or in Wendover.
Read the limits
Utah State Parks publishes no mileage from Salt Lake City
What stops a vehicle here
Jordanelle is the nearest RV camping with hookups to Park City, and it is only bookable for half the year. The reservable season runs 1 May to 31 October. From 1 November to 30 April it is walk-in, which cannot be reserved online at all, and whether the power and water are still running through that walk-in season is stated on no page the park publishes.
Read the limits