Burr Trail switchbacks inside the park
Not suitable for RVs or anything towing
These switchbacks are not considered suitable for RVs or vehicles towing trailers.https://www.nps.gov/care/planyourvisit/roads.htm

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.
The rule that governs this destination
Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.
Read from the park’s own pages on . Limits change, so check the source before you book.
Salt Lake City does not appear on the Capitol Reef directions page. The Utah Office of Tourism gives 235 miles. The park's own turn-by-turn segments are not summed here.
Utah Office of Tourism
No road here is closed by length alone.
610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.
Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.
Not suitable for RVs or anything towing
These switchbacks are not considered suitable for RVs or vehicles towing trailers.https://www.nps.gov/care/planyourvisit/roads.htm
Not suitable for RVs
This is an unmaintained, high-clearance 4WD road, not suitable to passenger cars, RVs, or inexperienced drivers. South Draw Road is not recommended.https://www.nps.gov/care/planyourvisit/directions.htm
Where a column reads not published, no page published by the agency that runs this ground states a figure. That is the source being silent, not this page being incomplete.
| Campground | Max RV length | Sites | Hookups | Season | Reservations | Dump station |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fruita Campground | Not published | 71 | None, except accessible sites 14, 24 and 63, where electric is for required medical devices only. | Open year-round. Stay limit 14 days 1 March to 30 November, 30 days 1 December to 28 February. | Six months ahead. No first-come sites during reservation season. | Yes |
Both positions are printed. Neither is averaged into a figure no source supports, and neither is quietly dropped.
"usually suitable for passenger cars and RVs up to 27 feet (8.2 meters) in length"
NPS Capitol Reef, Scenic Drive page, updated 30 September 2024
https://www.nps.gov/care/planyourvisit/scenicdrive.htm"accessible to all passenger vehicles and RV's up to 23 feet in length"
NPS Capitol Reef, Roads page, updated 18 November 2025
https://www.nps.gov/care/planyourvisit/roads.htmFour feet, on the same two roads, from the same park. A 25 ft Class C is the single most common drivable rental size in Salt Lake City and it falls between the two figures. The roads page is the newer of the two, which is a reason to prefer it and not a reason to hide the other.
Confirm at: Capitol Reef visitor center, 435-425-3791, press 1 then 4 for road conditions
These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.
Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

300 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.
4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
270 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.
4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
236 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.
3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
237 miles, per National Park Service
What stops a vehicle here
The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.
3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism
Read the limits
41 miles, per Utah State Parks
What stops a vehicle here
Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.
Read the limits
Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT
What stops a vehicle here
The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.
Read the limits
205 miles, per US Forest Service
What stops a vehicle here
No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.
Read the limits
Not stated by Utah State Parks
What stops a vehicle here
Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.
Read the limits