high aspen and conifer slopes above a canyon highway, a camper van climbing, snow on north faces
Summit County, UTeast on I-80, up and over Parleys Canyon

RV Rental in Park City, Utah

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

Park City rents an RV in two seasons that behave nothing alike. In summer it is the reservoir and the Uintas, and in winter it is a town that publishes no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers at all, so settle where the vehicle sleeps before you accept a January booking.

610 listings sit within 50 miles of downtown Salt Lake City, measured on 2026-09-18. Published day rates across them run $30 to $1795 with a median of $165, before tax, fees, mileage, generator hours and any delivery charge the host sets. No separate count is published for Park City, because the marketplace is searched by radius rather than by city boundary.

Outdoorsy listings
Outdoorsy protection plans
Roadside on eligible Outdoorsy bookings
Why people rent an RV in Park City

January demand here lost its reason, because Sundance now happens in Colorado.

Start with the correction, because most Park City content written about January is now describing an event in another state. Sundance Institute announced in March 2025 that Boulder, Colorado would become the festival's home beginning in 2027, and has since published the 2027 dates as 21 to 31 January in Boulder. The 2026 festival ran 22 January to 1 February in Park City and Salt Lake City, and it was the last one held in Utah. Nothing on sundance.org says what, if anything, runs in Park City that January. Treat a January premium on a Park City rental as a price to question rather than a fact to accept, and check sundance.org before you accept one.

The winter problem underneath that is simpler and it has not changed. Park City's own parking FAQ states that there is no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers, and points at private facilities instead. The nearest state park campground, Jordanelle, publishes a reservable season of 1 May to 31 October, with the rest of the year labelled walk-in, so a January site there cannot be booked online at all. Whether Jordanelle's water and power are actually energised through the walk-in season is not stated anywhere: the hookup rows in the rate table are price tiers rather than a service guarantee. Settle where the vehicle sleeps before you drive up Parleys Canyon, not after.

Summer is the season this address is actually good for. Jordanelle's Hailstone campground publishes 103 RV campsites with partial hookups, 30 amp power and water, and its Keetley group site takes up to 75 people with four RV hookup sites, a dumpster, a dumpsite and two restrooms with showers. Rockport State Park publishes 16-hour access year-round, though its winter hookup availability is not stated. East of town, the Mirror Lake Highway leaves from Kamas with its own published fee and season, set out on its own page. Book Jordanelle inside the 1 May to 31 October window or settle the overnight somewhere that is not Park City, because the town itself publishes nowhere to put the vehicle.

Sundance is in Boulder from 2027

The festival's own site gives 21 to 31 January 2027 in Colorado, and the Utah run ended on 1 February 2026. A January premium now needs a reason of its own.

No public overnight RV parking in town

Park City's parking FAQ says so plainly and points at private facilities. Settle where the vehicle sleeps before you drive up Parleys Canyon.

Jordanelle is partial hookup, May to October

103 RV sites with 30 amp power and water at Hailstone, reservable 1 May to 31 October. There is no sewer at the site and no online booking in January.

Keetley takes a group of 75

Four RV hookup sites, a dumpster, a dumpsite and two restrooms with showers. It is the largest published group capacity within reach of the town.

Where you collect it in Park City

Every rental reaches Park City up Parleys Canyon on I-80, including the one being delivered to you, which is why a Park City delivery fee is rarely a valley delivery fee. 67.9% of the 610 listings measured on 18 September 2026 offered delivery at a host-set price. Ask for the Park City figure specifically.

Settle the overnight before the handover. The town publishes no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers, so an address that can hold the vehicle is part of the booking rather than an afterthought, and a hotel car park is a question for the hotel rather than an assumption.

Handovers happen at owners' addresses around Kimball Junction and the Snyderville side more often than in the old town grid, which is the part of Park City with the least room to turn anything long. Ask which of the two the address is before you accept it, because a 30 ft vehicle on an old town street in January is a manoeuvre with snow banks on both sides.

  • Parleys Canyon on I-80
  • Kimball Junction
  • SR-224

Before you book near Park City

  • Ask the host for height and width in writing. Only 80 of 610 listings publish a width, and Zion counts mirrors.
  • Ask for the GVWR on the door plate. At 14,001 lbs or more, Utah's rental tax does not apply at any length of rental.
  • Book the campsite before the vehicle. A site publishes a maximum length; a listing never refuses a site.

Everything runs through the contact form and the host's own listing. There is no answered line.

Getting around Park City

UDOT prohibits vehicles or loads exceeding 45 ft in length on SR-224 from RP 0 near Empire Pass and Deer Valley to RP 1.2, and 65 ft from there to Sandridge Road. The longest single unit in this market measures 44 ft, so no drivable rental reaches that bar alone. A truck and trailer combination can: 78 of the 286 towables here are over 30 ft on their own and only 25 publish a length including the hitch, so for the rest you measure the combination in the driveway. Two roads out of town are also on UDOT's winter closure list, SR-224 and SR-150, described only as typically November through May or June, depending on the weather, with no date, milepost or gate published for either. Check udottraffic.utah.gov the week you travel and build the trip around a route that does not need either road.

Practical information for Park City

Dump stations and propane

No dump station and no propane supplier in Park City is named in any source this site can link. The nearest published dumpsite is at Jordanelle State Park, listed in the Keetley group site's facilities alongside four RV hookup sites, a dumpster and two restrooms with showers. Jordanelle's Hailstone sites are partial hookup, 30 amp power and water, with no sewer at the site, so tanks fill and have to go somewhere. Ask the host where they empty, and in winter ask whether the fresh system has been winterised, because a partial hookup is no help to a frozen tap.

Campgrounds within reach

Jordanelle State Park is the nearest: Hailstone publishes 103 RV campsites with partial hookups, 30 amp power and water, and Keetley is a group site for up to 75 people with four RV hookup sites, a nearby dumpster, a dumpsite and two restrooms with showers. Its reservable season is 1 May to 31 October and the rest of the year is labelled walk-in, so a January site cannot be reserved online and whether the hookups are live then is not stated. Rockport State Park publishes 16-hour access year-round with winter hookup availability unstated. Confirm with the park rather than assuming a price tier means a running tap.

Summit County rental tax

Short-term lease
Not read by this site
Utah state rate
2.50%
Chart in effect
1 October 2026

This site has not read the Summit County row on the Tax Commission's chart, so no rate is published for it here. Read that line before you budget. Salt Lake County's short-term lease row is 9.50% and Tooele County's is 2.50%, so the spread across this market is real and carrying one county's figure across a county line will be wrong.

A ski week is the longest booking most people make in Park City, which makes the two exemptions worth more attention than the county line. Utah stops treating a rental as short-term at 30 consecutive days, and Utah Code 59-12-1201(5) exempts a motor vehicle rated at 14,001 lbs gross vehicle weight rating or more at any length of rental. Ask for the door plate photograph in the same message as the winter tyres, and work the dates through before you shorten a season-long booking into a taxable one.

Read the row on the Utah State Tax Commission rate chart.

Park City RV rental questions

No. Sundance Institute announced in March 2025 that Boulder, Colorado would become the festival's home beginning in 2027, and has published the 2027 dates as 21 to 31 January in Boulder. The 2026 festival, 22 January to 1 February, was the last one held in Utah. Nothing on sundance.org says what runs in Park City that January. If a January rate here is being justified by the festival, ask what the justification actually is before you accept it.
Not on a public street or in a public lot. Park City's own parking FAQ states there is no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers, and points at private facilities that may be able to accommodate parking or storage. The nearest state park campground, Jordanelle, is reservable only from 1 May to 31 October. Settle the overnight before you drive up Parleys Canyon, because arriving without one leaves you looking for a private yard after dark in winter.
Jordanelle's reservable season runs 1 May to 31 October, with 1 November to 30 April labelled walk-in, so a winter site there cannot be booked online at all. Whether its water and power are energised during that walk-in season is not stated by the park: the hookup rows in its rate table are price tiers rather than a service guarantee. Rockport State Park publishes 16-hour access year-round and says nothing about winter hookups. Park City itself is not the fallback, because the town publishes no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers. Ring the park rather than reading a price as a promise, because arriving up Parleys Canyon without an answer leaves you looking for a private yard after dark.
Delivery to Park City means a host driving your rental up Parleys Canyon, which is a real cost to them and is usually priced accordingly. 67.9% of listings in this market offered delivery on 18 September 2026 at a fee the host sets. Ask for the Park City figure rather than a valley figure, and settle where the vehicle will sit overnight before it arrives, because the town publishes no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers.
No count is published for Park City on its own, because the marketplace is searched by radius rather than by city boundary. Across the whole 50 mile radius around downtown Salt Lake City on 2026-09-18 the count was 610: 244 travel trailers, 151 Class C, 78 camper vans, 58 Class B, 37 Class A, 22 toy haulers, 12 fifth wheels and 8 folding trailers. Search on your own dates rather than on that total, because availability is what decides the booking.
Every listing measured for this market sits within 50 miles of downtown Salt Lake City, which covers Salt Lake City itself, West Valley City, West Jordan, Sandy, Draper, Lehi, Provo, Ogden, Park City and Tooele. Each host chooses where the vehicle lives and whether they will move it, so the collection point is a per-listing question rather than a city-wide one. Confirm the address before you pay. A listing that reads as Salt Lake City can hand over 50 miles from the address you assumed.
No published figure separates day rates by pickup city. Hosts set their own rates and the marketplace does not break them out by where the vehicle is parked, so there is nothing to compare on price. What the location changes is the drive: a Draper or Lehi pickup starts south of the Point of the Mountain grade, an Ogden pickup adds the length of the Salt Lake Valley to a southbound trip, and a Park City pickup means the vehicle comes up Parleys Canyon before you ever see it. Pick the collection point by the direction you are driving. An Ogden pickup for a southern Utah trip costs you the whole valley on day one.
UDOT closes SR-39 at Ogden, SR-92 at Lehi, SR-190 in Big Cottonwood, SR-224 at Park City and SR-150 out of Kamas through the winter, in its own words typically November through May or June, depending on the weather. It publishes no fixed date for any of them, and the gate points and mileposts repeated elsewhere online are not UDOT's figures. Check udottraffic.utah.gov the week you travel, not the month before. A road that was open last season can be gated when you arrive, and a canyon road is a bad place to discover a motorhome's turning circle.

Renting an RV in Park City

Settle where the vehicle sleeps before you accept a Park City delivery. The town publishes no public overnight parking for RVs, boats or trailers, and the nearest state park will not take an online booking between November and April.