Where to take an RV from Salt Lake City

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The five national parks, plus Antelope Island, Bear Lake, Flaming Gorge and the Mirror Lake Highway. Each page has the drive time, the campgrounds, the season the road is open, and the size of vehicle the agency lets in. 3 of the 9 publish a length that bars a vehicle outright. Where two official pages give different numbers, both are printed here rather than averaged.

The tightest published limit at each destination

Compiled from nps.gov, recreation.gov, stateparks.utah.gov, fs.usda.gov, UDOT's secondary-highway restriction table and one Superintendent's Compendium. Sorted tightest first, which is the order that matters when you are choosing a length rather than a destination.

The tightest published vehicle length limit at each Utah destination on this site
DestinationTightest limitWhere it appliesWhat it does
Bryce Canyon20 ftBryce Point Road east of the Inspiration Point intersection, including Paria View RoadClosed to anything longer
Canyonlands21 ftElephant Hill Access Road and the Elephant Hill road system, the NeedlesClosed to anything longer
Zion35 ft 9 inZion-Mt. Carmel Highway, Canyon Junction to East EntranceClosed to anything longer
Antelope IslandNo length barBridger Bay sites 27, 28 and 30, the cottagesBarred by something other than length
ArchesNo length barThe park generallyParking restriction only
Bear LakeNo length barUS-89 through Logan Canyon, the route the park lists firstBarred by something other than length
Capitol ReefNo length barBurr Trail switchbacks inside the parkBarred by something other than length
Flaming GorgeNo length barUS-191 across Flaming Gorge Reservoir DamBarred by something other than length
Mirror Lake HighwayNo length barSR-150 between the Utah and Wyoming border and SR-32 in KamasBarred by something other than length

Read down that column before you pick a destination, because the shortest limit on your route is the one that decides the rig. Four of the nine publish no length limit at all, and there the deciding figure is a season, a water tap, a reservation rule or the length of the pad you book.

One page per destination

A motorhome on a narrow canyon road below sheer sandstone walls, showing how little clearance the route allows

Zion National Park

300 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.

4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A travel trailer parked in a pine-shaded campground loop on the rim above Bryce hoodoos

Bryce Canyon National Park

270 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.

4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A camper van in a slickrock parking area with sandstone fins rising behind it

Arches National Park

236 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A short camper van at the start of an unpaved gravel road running out across a mesa top

Canyonlands National Park

237 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A motorhome on a paved scenic drive beside historic orchards below striped cliffs

Capitol Reef National Park

Not stated by the National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.

3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Antelope Island State Park

41 miles, per Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Mirror Lake Highway

Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT

What stops a vehicle here

The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

205 miles, per US Forest Service

What stops a vehicle here

No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Bear Lake State Park

Not stated by Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.

Read the limits

Now match the rig to the route

A unit under 20 ft clears every length bar on the table above. Between 21 and 28 ft you keep both Canyonlands campgrounds and lose the Elephant Hill Access Road. Over 35 ft 9 in you lose the highway between Canyon Junction and Zion's East Entrance, and 15 of the 37 Class A units listed near Salt Lake City on 2026-09-18 are already over that before anyone measures a mirror.

Then ask the host for the width and the height, which 80 and 86 of the 610 listings publish respectively. Zion refuses on any one of the three, so a length that clears is only a third of the answer.