A Class C motorhome on a two-lane Utah highway with red rock mesas ahead and the Wasatch range behind

Bear Lake State Park RV rental from Salt Lake City

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The rule that governs this destination

Bear Lake publishes no RV length limit. It publishes pad lengths instead, 64 ft to 105 ft at Birch and 44 ft to 68 ft at Big Creek, all of them full hookup. What decides is whether you can book at all, because the park's conditions page says every Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden site is first come, first served until closing in October while its own facilities page still sends you to Reserve America.

Bear Lake at a glance

Read from the park’s own pages on . Limits change, so check the source before you book.

Distance from Salt Lake City
Not published

The directions page gives a route through Brigham City and Logan Canyon and a route from Evanston, Wyoming, and no mileage from Salt Lake City for either. Nothing is summed here.

Drive time
Not published

No source publishes one.

Tightest published length that bars a vehicle
Not published

No road here is closed by length alone.

Listings measured near Salt Lake City
610

610 publish a length, 86 a height, 80 a width.

What is closed to you, in the park's own words

Quoted rather than paraphrased, because a paraphrase of a size limit is how a foot goes missing between the source and the page you read it on.

Prohibited

US-89 through Logan Canyon, the route the park lists first

Over 12 ft wide is prohibited. Over 10 ft wide or 80 ft long needs a certified pilot car.

State Route 89 (Logan Canyon) between RP 461 and RP 498 (Bear Lake). (a) Vehicles/loads exceeding 10' in width or 80' in length require one certified pilot/escort vehicle. (b) Vehicles/loads exceeding 12' in width are prohibited.
https://connect.udot.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/Secondary-Highways-with-Additional-Restrictions-Sept-2025.pdf
Difficult, not banned

Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden campsites

First come, first served until closing in October

Rendezvous Beach (Big Creek, Birch, Cottonwood, and Willow campgrounds): OPEN Full hook-up and tent campsites. All campsites are first come, first serve until closing in October.
https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/current-conditions/
Prohibited

Cottonwood Campground at Rendezvous Beach

Tent only. No hookups at any individual site.

Cottonwood is a tent only campground. There are 21 individual sites and 3 group sites. There are no hook-ups for any of the individual sites.
https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/facilities/
Difficult, not banned

Rainbow Cove, if you are planning on it

Mid-construction, 21 primitive sites in the current phase

The Rainbow Cove facility is currently undergoing a major construction project. With the current phase of the project, there will be: a new entrance/access road; expanded vehicle with boat trailer parking to the south of the launch ramp
https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/facilities/
Difficult, not banned

The marina, if you are towing a boat behind the RV

Slips take boats up to 34 ft and are leased 1 May to 31 October

The Marina has 361 long-term boat slips, which are leased from May 1 to October 31. These slips can handle boats up to 34' long.
https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/facilities/

Campgrounds, and what each one will take

Where a column reads not published, no page published by the agency that runs this ground states a figure. That is the source being silent, not this page being incomplete.

Published RV limits, site counts, hookups, seasons and dump stations at every Bear Lake campground
CampgroundMax RV lengthSitesHookupsSeasonReservationsDump station
Birch, at Rendezvous BeachNot published57Full. Power, water and sewer at all 57 sites.Rendezvous Beach opens about 1 May. The park gives three different closing dates in October.The facilities page points at Reserve America. The conditions page dated 14 September 2026 says first come, first serve until closing in October.Not published
Big Creek, at Rendezvous BeachNot published46Full. Power, water and sewer at all 46 sites.Rendezvous Beach, about 1 May to the third weekend of October.Same contradiction as Birch. Confirm before driving up.Not published
South Eden, on the EastsideNot published20Partial. RV power and water, no sewer.Open approximately 1 May to 31 October, depending on weather.The facilities page says it is on Reserve America. The conditions page says first come, first serve until closing in October.Not published
Cisco Beach, on the EastsideNot published59None. Vault toilets spread through the campground.Open year-round.First come, first served.No
North Eden, being renamed Border CampgroundNot published35Power and water at all sites, per the facilities page.Open approximately 1 May to 31 October, depending on weather.First come, first serve until closing in October, per the conditions page.Not published
  • Birch, at Rendezvous Beach. No maximum RV length is published. Utah State Parks publishes the pad instead: "Sites vary from pull-through to back in. Sites range from 64' to 105'." Those are the longest published sites on this site, longer than anything at Flaming Gorge or on the Mirror Lake Highway, and all 57 carry power, water and sewer. It does not name which sites are pull-through. Every site has a pavilion covering a picnic table and a fire ring.
  • Big Creek, at Rendezvous Beach. No maximum RV length. "Sites vary from pull-through to back in. Sites range from 44' to 68'." Shorter pads than Birch and the same full hookups, plus one group site for up to 48 people and 12 vehicles. A 44 ft pad still clears every drivable rental in this market.
  • South Eden, on the Eastside. No length figure of any kind is published for South Eden, not a maximum and not a pad range. Twenty individual sites with RV power and water and no sewer, plus two group sites for up to 30 people and 6 vehicles. Reached by Cisco Road, about 8 miles north of the SR-30 junction at Laketown.
  • Cisco Beach, on the Eastside. No length figure published. Fifty-nine primitive beach-front sites with vault toilets and nothing else, and the park calls it the only first-come campground in the park through the summer months. It is also the only Bear Lake campground open year-round, which makes it the one that answers a November query.
  • North Eden, being renamed Border Campground. No length figure published, and the park's two pages do not agree that it is open. The facilities page describes 35 individual sites with power and water and says the facility was planned to open around 1 May 2024. The conditions page dated 14 September 2026 lists it as open with partial hookup and tent campsites. Thirty-five individual sites and one group site, per the facilities page.

Numbers that do not agree, and who to ask

Both positions are printed. Neither is averaged into a figure no source supports, and neither is quietly dropped.

Whether anything at Bear Lake can be reserved

  1. "This site is on Reserve America. To reserve, click here." (South Eden) and "For more information or to reserve campsites, click here." (Rendezvous Beach)

    Utah State Parks, Bear Lake facilities page

    https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/facilities/
  2. "All campsites are first come, first serve until closing in October", stated separately for Rendezvous Beach, South Eden and North Eden.

    Utah State Parks, Bear Lake current conditions, last updated 14 September 2026

    https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/current-conditions/

This is the whole booking decision. Utah State Parks runs a four-month rolling reservation window statewide and charges $8 a reservation, and Bear Lake's own conditions page says none of that applies here right now. Driving up on a Friday in September on the strength of a reservation that cannot be made is a wasted day and a wasted tank.

Confirm at: Bear Lake State Park, 435-946-3343 or bearlake@utah.gov

Whether North Eden exists yet

  1. "The park's North Eden facility is nearing the end of construction. We are planning to have this whole facility open around May 1, 2024."

    Utah State Parks, Bear Lake facilities page, undated

    https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/facilities/
  2. "North Eden: OPEN Partial hook-up and tent campsites."

    Utah State Parks, Bear Lake current conditions, last updated 14 September 2026

    https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/current-conditions/

The facilities page is the one a planner reads, and on the question of whether a 35 site hookup campground exists it is more than two years out of date. The fees page prices North Eden at $45 a night in summer, which is a third piece of evidence that it is open, and the page describing it still says it is being built.

Confirm at: Bear Lake State Park, 435-946-3343

When Rendezvous Beach actually closes

  1. "The Rendezvous Beach facilities are open from approx. May 1 through the third weekend of October."

    Utah State Parks, Bear Lake park fees page

    https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/park-fees/
  2. "Rendezvous Beach Hours Open May 1 – Approx. October 23."

    Utah State Parks, Bear Lake park home page sidebar

    https://stateparks.utah.gov/parks/bear-lake/

In 2026 the third weekend of October is the 17th and 18th, and 23 October is the Friday after. Both figures are hedged with approx, and the gap between them is most of a week at the only full hookup campground at Bear Lake. It also decides whether the cheaper October rate is usable, because camping drops from $55 to $40 a night for a Utah resident on 1 October and the season may have only about 17 nights left in it.

Confirm at: Bear Lake State Park, 435-946-3343

Questions no official page answers

These are the questions a renter asks that no official page answers. Each one was checked rather than assumed, and a gap is recorded as a gap. Filling one with a plausible number would be the most useful-looking lie on the page.

  • Any maximum RV length. Utah State Parks publishes a pad range for Birch and for Big Creek and nothing at all for South Eden, Cisco Beach, Rainbow Cove or North Eden. Checked the facilities page, the fees page, the directions page, the conditions page and the park home page on 2026-09-19. The park has no camping page and no FAQ page of its own: both of those paths serve Antelope Island content, so anything read there is about a different park. Ask 435-946-3343 about a specific site.
  • Which sites are pull-through. The park says only that Birch and Big Creek sites "vary from pull-through to back in" and names none of them. For a rented 32 ft Class C on a first-come Friday, with no reservation to hold a pad, that sentence is the booking decision and there is nothing behind it.
  • Dump stations. Three RV dump stations appear in the facilities page's description of a future phase of the Rainbow Cove project, and no dump station is named anywhere else in the park. No page says Rendezvous Beach has one and no page says it does not, which for 103 full hookup sites with sewer is an odd thing to leave out.
  • Whether the $8 statewide reservation fee applies here. Utah State Parks charges it on every reservation, and Bear Lake's own conditions page says the campgrounds are first come, first serve. If nothing is reservable the fee is moot, and no page on either site reconciles the two.
  • Any distance or drive time from Salt Lake City. The directions page routes you through Brigham City, Logan and Logan Canyon without one mileage figure for the trip. UDOT's restriction table does give the canyon a length, RP 461 to RP 498, which is 37 milepost markers of two-lane canyon road, and that is a road reference rather than a distance from anywhere.

Sources

Salt Lake City RV Rental is a finder. It owns no RVs and is not affiliated with the National Park Service, the Utah Office of Tourism or UDOT. Park rules change between seasons, so read the source before you book.

Everywhere else this market drives to

A motorhome on a narrow canyon road below sheer sandstone walls, showing how little clearance the route allows

Zion National Park

300 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Since 7 June 2026 there is no tunnel permit. An RV over 35 ft 9 in long, 7 ft 10 in wide or 11 ft 4 in high is turned around at Canyon Junction, and the width measurement includes your mirrors.

4 hours 15 minutes, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A travel trailer parked in a pine-shaded campground loop on the rim above Bryce hoodoos

Bryce Canyon National Park

270 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Bryce Point Road and Paria View Road are closed to RVs over 20 ft and to anything towing. That closure appears only in the Superintendent's Compendium, not on a single page a visitor would normally read.

4 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A camper van in a slickrock parking area with sandstone fins rising behind it

Arches National Park

236 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Timed entry is not required at Arches in 2026, which most RV guides still get wrong. The constraint that replaced it is physical: NPS tells oversize vehicles to leave the rig in town or in the visitor center lot, and the park has no dump station, so you empty tanks in Moab.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A short camper van at the start of an unpaved gravel road running out across a mesa top

Canyonlands National Park

237 miles, per National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

The Elephant Hill Access Road bans anything over 21 ft. It is an ordinary-looking two-wheel-drive gravel road to a major trailhead, and a 28 ft rig legal in both park campgrounds is illegal on it.

3.5 to 4 hours to Moab, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A motorhome on a paved scenic drive beside historic orchards below striped cliffs

Capitol Reef National Park

Not stated by the National Park Service

What stops a vehicle here

Capitol Reef publishes two different RV limits for Grand Wash and Capitol Gorge, 27 ft and 23 ft, and a 25 ft Class C sits between them. Book under 23 ft if you want both spur roads, because the 23 ft figure is on the more recently updated page. Take a 25 ft rig and you may reach the turning and have to reverse it out.

3.5 hours, per the Utah Office of Tourism

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Antelope Island State Park

41 miles, per Utah State Parks

What stops a vehicle here

Utah State Parks publishes no RV length limit for the causeway or for any campground here, so nothing stops a rig by size. Power and water decide instead, and both exist in one loop: Bridger Bay sites 27 to 64, three of which are cottages where RVs are not permitted. Book one of the 35 hookup sites that leaves, or cross the causeway with full tanks. There is no gas station on the island, the only other tap is the dump station in that same loop, and rideshare drivers will not come out to collect you.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Mirror Lake Highway

Not stated as a total by the Forest Service or UDOT

What stops a vehicle here

The only limit UDOT publishes for SR-150 is 80,000 lbs, and the heaviest RV in this market is rated 51,000. No length, width or height limit exists for the road. What decides is the season: Mirror Lake Campground opens 22 June and closes 20 September, 91 days, and UDOT publishes no date for the closure at either end of it.

Read the limits
A close view of a motorhome's extended side mirror against a narrow rock passage

Flaming Gorge National Recreation Area

205 miles, per US Forest Service

What stops a vehicle here

No road in publishes an RV length limit and the campsites here are the longest in this data set, up to 80 ft at Mustang Ridge. What decides is water. There are no hookups anywhere in the recreation area, drinking water at most campgrounds runs only from mid to late May to mid September, and the pass you need to be here cannot be bought online.

Read the limits